"I can think of no better forum for a composer with a passion for learning the traditions
of so-called progressive American opera theater than AOP’s program."
-- Daron Hagen, composer/guest C&V instructor

AOP's Composers & the Voice is a two-year fellowship for composers and librettists
that provides experience writing for the voice and opera stage.

The Composers & the Voice Workshop Series is a competitive biannual fellowship offered to composers, librettists, and composer/librettist teams. Created and led by Composers & the Voice Artistic Director Steven Osgood, the two-year fellowship includes a year of working with the company’s Resident Ensemble of Singers and Artistic Team followed by a year of continued promotion and development through AOP and its strategic partnerships. Since launching in 2002, C&V has fostered the development of 44 composers & librettists.

With each new group of fellows, sponsorships are named in honor of mentors and their support of Composers & the Voice. During the workshop session these “Composer & the Voice Chairs" make themselves available to our fellows for one-on-one discussions and feedback. Past chairs have included composers Mark Adamo, John Corigliano, Tan Dun, Daron Hagen, Jake Heggie, Lee Hoiby, Libby Larsen, John Musto, Richard Peaslee, Tobias Picker, Kaija Saariaho, and Stephen Schwartz, and librettist Mark Campbell.

details apppartners


Applications available March 2017 for the 2017-19 season

2015-17 Cycle

Composer & Librettist Fellows
Einhorn McFarlane Roller Sonnenblick
Matthew Barnson Nell Shaw Cohen Marc LeMay Cecilia Livingston Edward Einhorn Duncan McFarlane Emily Roller Mark Sonnenblick
Resident Ensemble of Singers Music Directors
  henry horsted wicks
Jennifer Goode Cooper
Blake Friedman
Blythe Gaissert Tookah Sapper Michael Weyandt
Jonathan Woody
  Mila Henry Kelly Horsted Charity Wicks
C&V Artistic Chairs
Scheer Schwartz Vavrek
Ricky Ian Gordon
Daron Hagen
Michael Korie David T. Little Missy Mazzoli
Tobias Picker
Gene Scheer Stephen Schwartz Royce Vavrek

C&V Video Playlist

Composers & the Voice is made possible in part by a generous multi-year award from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

The Victor Herbert Foundation sponsors one fellowship as The Victor Herbert Foundation Composers & The Voice Chair, created in memory of longtime opera supporter Lois C. Schwartz.

Past AOP Composers & the Voice fellows have received grants and honors from the following organizations: Aaron Copland Fund for Music, ASCAP, BMI, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the American Music Center, the American Composers Forum, OPERA America, the National Endowment for the Arts, Meet the Composer, the Argosy Foundation Contemporary Music Fund, the Fulbright Foundation, the Atlantic Center for the Arts, the Douglas Moore Fellowship, Tapestry New Opera Works, the Frederick Loewe Foundation, New Dramatists, and the Martha Baird Rockefeller Foundation.



American Opera Projects, Inc. • 138 South Oxford Street, Brooklyn, NY 11217
718.398.4024 • info@operaprojects.org